National Earthquake Drill

The 2011 Great Central US Shakeout is scheduled for 10:15 AM (Central Time) on Thursday April 28th (11:15 AM Eastern, 9:15 AM Mountain, 8:15 AM Pacific).

Right now there are over 2.9 million people registered to participate in this event!

The Central U.S. ShakeOut Drill is scheduled for 10:15 AM on April 28, 2011 (Indiana will participate on April 19, also at 10:15 AM). This means that wherever you are at that moment—at home, at work, at school, anywhere—you should Drop, Cover, and Hold On as if there were a major earthquake occurring at that very moment, and stay in this position for at least 60 seconds. There will not be any freeway closures, power outages, or other simulated effects of the hypothetical earthquake, unless your local government or utility company specifically notifies you about something of this nature. The ShakeOut is not something you need to leave work to participate in—in fact, participating at work is encouraged! Businesses, organizations, schools, and government agencies can participate and have their employees practice Drop, Cover, and Hold On or have a more extensive emergency drill. 


The main goal of the ShakeOut is to get everyone prepared for major earthquakes, so use the ShakeOut as an opportunity to learn what to do before, during, and after an earthquake. This is the first step leading up to the National Level Exercise happening May 16-20, 2011. 

Anyone can participate, from a single individual at their home to a major company at the office. Talk to your coworkers, neighbors and friends about the ShakeOut and encourage their participation.

As part of the exercise, CEN asks you to complete the following steps:

•    Register (if you have not already done so)
•    Fill out/update your profile
•    Request to Join the "NLE 2011" Response Group
•    Post how you, your family, or church have responded to the drill online